Kansas Increases Minimum PD Liability Limits, Requires Future Studies
The Governor recently approved H.B. 2446, increasing the required minimum motor vehicle insurance liability limit for property damage. Effective January 1, 2017, every policy of motor vehicle liability insurance issued or renewed in Kansas must contain stated limits of liability, exclusive of interest and costs, not less than $25,000 because of harm to or destruction of property of others in any one accident.
This new law also requires, beginning in 2026 and not less than every 10 years afterwards, a legislative interim study committee to study the issue whether the minimum per person-per accident limits of liability for bodily injury or death should be adjusted.